IISE Innovative Design Competition

The Challenge

Showcase your creativity in ISE design by working as a team to develop the conceptual design for a new product to meet an unmet need in the global marketplace. Create a five-minute concept pitch to be presented in front of a live audience and a judging panel of industry professionals. The pitch should present the concept design, describe the target market and demonstrate why the concept will be profitable (including how the concept design improves over existing designs and your team's plan for marketing the product). The specific theme of the design will be announced at the 2020 IISE Annual Conference & Expo in New Orleans, La.


Must be a graduate or undergraduate student member of IISE and attend the IISE Annual Conference & Expo May 30-June 2, 2020 in New Orleans, La. Teams will be assigned at the conference and the design work and presentations will occur during timed sessions at the conference. Each team member must be present during the team working session and at least one team member must be present during the presentation.

Judging Criteria

There are five total judging criteria which will be equally weighted in determining a winner:

  • Innovation – the extent to which the proposed idea is novel, i.e., different from other existing technology.
  • Market – the extent to which the team convincingly demonstrates a profitable market for the proposed idea.
  • Competitive Advantage – the extent to which the team demonstrates that its design has significant advantages over the most similar, existing technology, or, if no similar competitors exist, the extent to which the team demonstrates a sound plan to enter the market (market its product).
  • Presentation Quality – the extent to which the audio and visual quality of the team's presentation contribute to a convincing pitch.
  • Response to Questions – the team's ability to reply clearly, concisely, and convincingly to judge's questions.

2019 Winners

Paula Alejandra Barco Alzate, Universidad de los Andes
Bryce Kuyper, Virginia Tech
Aaron Slavin, Penn State Behrend
Chase Jones, University of Florida

Past winners