Eighth Annual SHS Student Simulation Competition

Enter this exciting student simulation competition at the Healthcare Systems Process Improvement Conference 2022!

FlexSim Healthcare

The competition is sponsored by FlexSim Software Products Inc.

Teams of a maximum of four ISE students solve a "real-world" healthcare situational case study using FlexSim's simulation software. This case study is prepared by FlexSim. Student team members and their faculty advisor are not required to be members of IISE or SHS to enter the competition. The finalists must be able to attend the Healthcare Systems Process Improvement Conference in Orlando, Jan. 19-21, 2022.

General Rules and Guidelines

  • Teams consists of a maximum of four students, plus an advisor. Teams can have no more than two graduate students.
  • FlexSim will provide software and software licenses to all students who are interested in participating.
  • They are given approximately nine weeks to develop their solutions.
  • Three finalist teams are selected to present their solutions for final judging at the Healthcare Systems Process Improvement Conference.
  • Each of the three finalist teams will receive up to $1,250 USD for travel expenses to the finals, plus complimentary conference registration, cash awards and framed certificates.
  • Winners will be announced at the conference.

Important Dates

  • Deadline: EXPIRED FOR HSPI 2022.
  • Case study will be sent to the teams the week of Sept. 27.
  • Deadline: Student teams must submit their solutions to FlexSim no later than Dec. 12.
  • The three finalist teams will be notified Jan. 5, 2022.

Additional cash prizes are also awarded to competitors based on their finishing position:

  • First place: $2,500 U.S. to the team
  • Second place: $1,500 U.S. to the team
  • Third place: $1,000 U.S. to the team

Information for instructions and dates for a tutorial using the FlexSim software will be in the information package that will be sent directly from FlexSim the week of Sept. 27.

Submit one online entry form per team with payment information for the $30 USD entry fee. This fee is non-refundable. If paying by check, send completed entry form and payment to:

Attn: Brian Charles
3577 Parkway Lane
Suite 200
Norcross, GA 30092

Questions? Contact Brian Charles at bcharles@iise.org or (770) 349-1102.

2021 Winners

1st place: UAI Team
Federal University of Itajuba
Team members: Gustavo Teodoro Gabriel, Joao Soares do Amaral, Gustavo Santos Coutinho and Rafael Hummel Santos
Faculty advisor: Jose de Queiroz

2nd place: Equipo 1
University of Louisville
Team members: Jorge Sanchez and Mercedes Pastor
Faculty advisor: Arsalan Paleshi

3rd place: BU Bearcats
Binghamton University
Team members: Arushi Agarwal and Nieqing Cao
Faculty advisor: Soongeol Kwon

Honorable Mentions:

"Florida CHOMPtimizers"
University of Florida
Team members: Elijah, Christopher Suryo, Harrison Vann and Meredith McCurdy
Faculty advisor: Michelle Alvarado

"Houston Streamliners"
University of Houston
Team members: Awais Ahmed, Moaz Ahmed, Mohammed Ul Haq and Adil Malik
Faculty advisor: Jiming Peng

University of Louisville
Team members: Shahab Sadri and Bijan Bibak
Faculty advisor: Arsalan Paleshi

University of Florida
Team members: Yikai Xiang, Jagger Wise-Jarvis, Jessica Kernohan and Roberto Bazan
Faculty advisor: Xiang Zhong

Past winners