Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is the elected constituent for the membership and the profession. Voting members include the president, president-elect, past president and elected senior vice presidents. Non-voting members include the treasurer, board secretary and executive director. Other non-voting members may be added by approval of the board of trustees as needed.


David Poirier
Chief Executive Officer
The Poirier Group Ltd.
Etobicoke, Ontario

Senior VP - Academics
Janis Terpenny
Janis Terpenny
Wayne T. Davis Chair and Dean
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, Tennessee

Bopaya Bidanda
Bopaya Bidanda

Ernest Roth Professor & Chair
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Senior VP - International

Gul Kremer
Gul Kremer
Professor & Chair
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa

Past President
Jamie Rogers
Jamie Rogers
Professor & Regents' Outstanding Teacher
University of Texas-Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Senior VP - Continuing Education
J. Cole Smith
Cole SmithDean of the College of Engineering
and Computer Science
Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York

Senior VP - Publications
Ron Askin
Ron AskinProfessor
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona

VP of Student Development
Faisal Aqlan
(non-voting member)
Faisal Aqlan
Faculty Member
Penn State Behrend
Erie, Pennsylvania

Senior VP - Industry
Carl Kirpes

Crude Oil Strategy & Analysis
Marathon Petroleum Company

Chief Executive Officer
Don H. Greene
(non-voting member)
Don H. Greene Chief Executive Officer
Norcross, Georgia

Senior VP - North American Operations
Kevin Taaffe
Kevin TaaffeProfessor
Clemson University
Clemson, South Carolina

Joseph Wilck
(non-voting member)
Joe Wilck Clinical Associate Professor
College of William & Mary
Williamsburg, Virginia

Senior VP - Technical Operations
Rohan Shirwaiker
Rohan Shirwaiker
Associate Professor
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina

Industry Advisory Board Representative
Renee Thiesing
Renee Thiesing
Simio LLC
Sewickley, Pennsylvania