Engineering Systems Division

Energy Systems Division


Welcome from our board members

Division Board 2019 - 2020

Andrew Kusiak                                              
University of Iowa Informatics Initiative  
Iowa City, IA 

Past President  
Lihui Bai  
Assistant Professor  
University of Louisville  
Louisville, KY

President Elect 
Zhimin Xi  
Assistant Professor  
Rutgers University  
Piscataway, New Jersey

Board Members 2018-2020 
Joshua Warmack 
Vice President 
Enervision, Inc. 
Atlanta, GA

Lei Fan 
Assistant Professor 
University of Houston
Houston, TX

Mohammad S. Roni 
Research Scientist 
Idaho National Laboratory 
Idaho Falls, Idaho

Board Members 2019-2021 
Chaoyue Zhao  
Associate Professor 
University of Washington
Columbus, OH

Ramteen Sioshansi 
Ohio State University  
Stillwater, OK  

Student Ambassador 2018-2020
Alison Davis
University of Louisville

Mission Statement

The mission of the Energy Systems Division is to support its members by fostering networks, offering programs and maintaining resources that represent their core competencies and/or areas of specialized practice.

Vision Statement

The vision of the Energy Systems Division is to become the premier division for researchers and practitioners committed to advancing excellence in innovative modeling and exploring industrial and systems engineering tools for energy systems. 

How to Become a Member

Click here to learn How to become a member of IISE Energy Systems Division.

Conference Committee Members

ES Track 2020 IISE Conference Committee
Yongpei Guan (Co-Chair), Ramteen Sioshansi (Co-Chair) 

Best Paper Committee
Zhi Zhou(
Chair), Sandra D, Eksioglu, Lihui Bai

Best Student Paper Award Committee
Chaoyue Zhao (Chair),  Sandra D, EksiogluLihui Bai

Young Investigator Award
Mohammad S. Roni
 (Co-Chair), Lei Fan

Energy Systems Division Student Paper Competition

This award recognizes student members whose paper and presentation both represent the highest level of excellence.

Energy Systems Division Outstanding Young Investigator Award

This award recognizes members for their technical contribution to manufacturing and design.

Energy Systems Division Annual Awards (2019)

IISE conference ES track Best Paper Award  

“Threshold Control Policy for Battery Energy Storage Operations”

Awnalisa Walker and Soongeol Kwon

Binghamton University 

Finalists for IISE conference ES track Best Student Paper Award*


"Detection and Distinction of Replay-attack and Equipment Faults in SCADA"

1st Place - Dan Li,  Georgia Institute of Technology  

"Estimation of Battery Pack SOC Uncertainty considering Cell-to-Cell Variability"

2nd Place - Modjtaba Dahmardeh, Rutgers University  

“Resilience-based Design of Microgrid Systems under Random Transmission Line Failures" 

3rd Place - Zhetao Chen, Rutgers University 


Energy Systems Division Outstanding Young Investigator Award
  Chaoyue Zhao, Oklahoma State University


Connect with Energy Systems on Social Media

Like us on Facebook.

Join our group on LinkedIn.